Punk Rock at its Finest

Another great night at Sled Island! I went to a house party downtown yesterday afternoon and caught none other than COUSINS playin’ in a basement. Such a good performance I’m glad I caught them for an intimate show.

Another house party later on was featuring Keep Tidy who played in the garage in the back of the house to a pack of punk thirsty kids. It was nice to be able to catch some shows out of the bar element and into the dyi scene. Kinda reminds me of the Freelandia we have back home during Rifflandia.

After catching some grub (Vietnamese Subs) we biked over to the United Church to catch Zola Jesus followed by Lee Ranaldo. Two back to back epic performances.  Nika Roza Danilova was all dressed up and danced her way through the set. Lee Ranaldo (of Sonic Youth fame) put on a electric noise blow out. Knowing how to present the sound through visuals and an awesome on stage show he had the audience memorized throughout!

I hit up the Legion to check out the Crocodiles up close and danced for as long as I could before I rushed over to check out NEEDLES//PINS. N/P were a great punk rock band, I bought their 7″ and will share it on the air waves when I get back, check out their myspace until then or get your SLEDISLANDWRISTBANDDAMNIT!

I ended my night off watching Man Man and then headed over to Broken City to catch the Secret Weird Guests BABYSITTER. Babysitter are a Victoria band that are amazing and put on an epic show, they will be playing tomorrow at Dicken’s at 10PM, don’t miss it!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

